3 decisive arguments to choose for the predictability of PPC.

Why Heineken Netherlands Supply (HNS)* decided to include PPC in its graphics supply chain…

When you hear the name 'Heineken', you immediately think of the brand's ubiquity. This Dutch beer has the greatest international presence in the world. There are few countries where you can't get your hands on this brand of beer. And yet, it is in this international market that there had been problems in the past with the graphical implementation of Heineken's packaging and labels.

How it used to work

Previously, a design company was responsible for the design and artwork and a lithographer provided a generic production file to the various printers, be they located in America, Australia, or Asia. Each printer then adapted this file to fit their specifications. And the result... did not often correspond entirely with the approved version. Not to mention the lack of consistency observable when you compared the various printed versions. Whereas that is precisely the point of international branding: a bottle of Heineken purchased in Seoul should look the same as a bottle bought in Buenos Aires. Right?

Links and chains

That's why Heineken Netherlands Supply decided to reinforce and above all streamline its graphics supply chain. As of today, PPC – partners in pre-press based in Sint Niklaas – will be responsible for the artwork and repro of the production files. Not only for the Heineken brand, but also for famous brands such as Desperados, Wieckse, Brand, Sol, Maes, Cristal, Affligem and Amstel. Furthermore, as of now, PPC is also introducing colour management and delivering the print-ready files to the printers. These files are made such that they take into account all the technical aspects and the complete press profile of the specific printer.

The result: predictability.

Sounds boring, looks great. What you see is what you get, that what it's always about with PPC. That's why PPC promotes remote proofing systems for brand owners. This way clients know straight away what the end result will and must look like. What's more, this also contributes to an improved Carbon Footprint, as a lot of the back-and-forth of proofs is now a thing of the past. A time- and money-saving solution for the ultimate benefit of quality. Sounds logical, works great.

But there's more…

The overall workflow developed by HNS with PPC was declared a 'best practice' by Heineken and voted the best innovation project of 2012-2013 for Heineken Worldwide.

Count the profits

The choice to go with PPC and a drastic intervention in the pre-production process translates not only into a percent, but also into euros and cents. Upon inspection, the supply chain appears to be more robust and to run more smoothly. As such, Heineken is saving up to a third on its total pre-print process, it's gaining in efficiency (time-to-market for new packaging is all but halved), but above all it's gaining in overall end quality and in predictable consistency of the print quality. And that's what it's all about for Heineken and PPC.

A careful choice

It wasn't decided at random to go with PPC. As a graphics partner of Alken-Maes, with brands such as Maes Pils, Mort Subite, Cristal and Grimbergen (a subsidiary of Heineken), PPC has built up a solid reputation over the past 7 years in the streamlining of the packaging production and the rebranding of, among others, Maes, Cristal and Grimbergen beer.

* Heineken Netherlands Supply (HNS) is responsible for the distribution of Heineken products and brands in more than 150 countries.

3 arguments décisifs pour choisir la prévisibilité de PPC

Pourquoi Heineken Netherlands Supply (HNS)* a-t-il décidé d'ajouter PPC à sa chaîne de production graphique…

Qui dit Heineken, pense immédiatement à son omniprésence. Ce brasseur néerlandais est le brasseur le plus international au monde. Il y a, en effet, peu de pays où vous ne trouverez pas cette marque de bière. Et c'est sur ce marché international que la réalisation graphique des emballages et étiquettes de Heineken a fait, par le passé, défaut.

Ancien mode de travail

Un bureau de design avait la responsabilité du design et de la réalisation, et un lithographe fournissait un fichier de production générique à différents imprimeurs, qu'ils soient installés aux États-Unis, en Australie ou en Asie. Chaque imprimeur adaptait ensuite ce fichier à ses spécifications. Et le résultat... ne correspondait souvent pas du tout avec ce qui avait été approuvé. Sans compter qu'une fois mis les uns à côté des autres, les différents imprimés étaient convertibles. Mais l'objectif du branding international est qu'une cannette de Heineken achetée à Séoul doit être exactement la même qu'une achetée à Buenos Aires. Non ?

Chaînes et maillons

C'est alors que Heineken Netherlands Supply a décidé de renforcer sa chaîne de production graphique et de l'harmoniser dans le monde entier. PPC, partenaire de pré-presse à Sint-Niklaas, est désormais responsable de la réalisation et reproduction des fichiers de production. Pas uniquement de la marque Heineken, mais également d'autres marques connues telles que Desperados, Wieckse, Brand, Sol, Maes, Cristal, Affligem et Amstel. PPC pratique également une gestion des couleurs immédiate et livre des fichiers prêts à être imprimés aux imprimeurs. Les fichiers sont donc construits de telle sorte à tenir compte de tous les aspects techniques et du profil complet de presse de l'imprimeur.

Résultat : prévisibilité.

Ça a l'air ennuyeux, c'est visuellement beau. "What you see is what you get" est la devise de PPC. C'est pourquoi PPC promeut auprès de propriétaires de marque des systèmes d'épreuve à distance. Les clients savent ainsi précisément et immédiatement à quoi ressemblera et doit ressembler le résultat final. Cela contribue également positivement à l'empreinte carbone, car les nombreuses séries d'épreuves font désormais partie du passé. Une solution économe en temps et en argent, et qui contribue particulièrement à la qualité. Ça a l'air logique, ça fonctionne à la perfection.

Et bien plus encore...

L'ensemble du flux de travail que HNS a développé avec PPC a été évalué par Heineken comme une "best practice" et a été élu comme le meilleur projet d'innovation 2012-2013 pour Heineken Worldwide.

Plus grands bénéfices

Le choix pour PPC et son intervention drastique dans le processus de pré-production ne se traduit pas qu'en pour cent, mais également en économies. La chaîne de production semble plus solide et tourner de manière plus fluide. Heineken économise jusqu'à un tiers de son trajet de pré-impression, gagne en efficacité [le délai de mise sur le marché d'un nouvel emballage a pratiquement été réduit de moitié], mais également en qualité finale et en qualité d'impression cohérente et prévisible. Et c'est le travail de Heineken et de PPC.

Rien à la légère

Que le choix se soit porté sur PPC ne vient pas de nulle part. En tant que partenaire graphique d'Alken-Maes, avec des marques comme Maes Pils, Mort Subite, Cristal et Grimbergen (une succursale de Heineken), PPC s'est construit pendant 7 ans une solide réputation en termes d'harmonisation de la production des emballages et du rebranding de bières telles que Maes, Cristal et Grimbergen.

* Heineken Netherlands Supply (HNS) assure la distribution des produits et marques Heineken dans plus de 150 pays.